Ulster County Sheriff’s Department gets state grant for body cameras

New York State Attorney General Letitia James, flanked by Ulster County Executive Pat Ryan and Sheriff Juan Figueora

Attorney General Letitia James today presented the Ulster County Sheriff’s Office with a check for $69,750 for body cameras. The grant will fund the purchase of 93 cameras.

“Body cameras are critical tools for providing transparency, accountability, and protecting public safety,” said James. “All law enforcement officers should be equipped with this technology for their safety and the safety of our communities, but too often the cost is prohibitive. I am proud to provide these funds to the Ulster County Sheriff’s Office and agencies across the state to ensure the safety of all New Yorkers.”


“The use of body-worn cameras is an effective tool our agency has deployed to further build on our continued commitment to transparency and accountability, maintain the public trust and provide valuable evidence for prosecutions, in addition to protecting both our members from unjustified claims of misconduct and the public from potential misuses of public authority,” said Ulster County Sheriff Juan Figueroa. “With this award of nearly $70,000 from the Attorney General’s Office, they have substantially helped us offset the cost of this valuable technology. We are thankful for this continued support from the Attorney General and our state law enforcement partners.”

“I am grateful for Attorney General Letitia James’ leadership in providing body-worn cameras for the Ulster County Sheriff’s Office, and for the twelve other law enforcement agencies receiving them around the state,” said State Senator Jen Metzger. “Utilizing this technology via her funding initiative will minimize any ambiguity in interactions between Ulster County’s law enforcement officers and the public, in turn fortifying those relationships and making all New Yorkers safer.”

In addition to the Ulster County Sheriff’s Office, funds will be provided to:
• Albany County Sheriff’s Office
• Amherst Police Department
• Buffalo Police Department
• Monroe County Sheriff’s Office
• Niagara Falls Police Department
• Rochester Police Department
• Suffolk County Police Department
• Suffolk County Sheriff’s Office
• Syracuse Police Department
• Troy Police Department
• Utica Police Department
• Westchester County Department of Public Safety