New building advocates win Woodstock Library vote

The slate of candidates favoring construction of a new Woodstock Library after tearing down the current building won the three seats available on Board of Trustees in October 3 voting. Former trustee Leslie Gerber led all six candidates with 442 votes, followed by current board president Dorothea Marcus with 435 and Howard Kagan with 427.

They outpolled three candidates who favored renovating the current structure and adding on to the building — Jim Dougherty, who got 382 votes, Julie Szabo, 378 and incumbent Jesse Jones, with 378.

Library voters also approved, by a vote of 586-225, the budget for its 2020 fiscal year, a $644,846.12, spending plan with an increase of $3102.12, or 0.48 percent. The budget provides for no tax increase from the previous year as the levy remains the same.