Planning Board appointments made during New Paltz reorg meeting

After interviewing several candidates, New Paltz Town Council members last week appointed Stana Weisburd to complete the unexpired Planning Board term of Lagusta Yearwood, and Matt DiDonna to a full, seven-year term. Unlike in some other local municipalities, term end dates are not posted on the town’s website.

Jane Schanberg was appointed an alternate member. In some towns, it’s presumed that alternate members, having served in a limited capacity already, should be the first considered as full members of the board. According to Supervisor Neil Bettez, board members asked for letters of interest, but did not receive any from current alternate members.

Two consultants were retained for the Planning Board, at least for now. Norbert Quenzer will remain wetlands inspector pending a request for quotes. Longtime Planning Board attorney George Lithco was reappointed to that post, but only for 120 days rather than a full year.