Saugerties election guide

election guide top

The Saugerties Times guide to the 2015 election- Links to our coverage of the various races, including articles and opinion.


Town supervisor


Incumbent Greg Helsmoortel, a member of the Independence Party endorsed by the Democratic, Republican and Independence parties, defends his seat against challenger Conservative Gaetana Ciarlante, endorsed by the Conservative Party. (Note: There are other parties beyond these four, but enrollment is so low we’re not listing those endorsements.) Read our article and check out the poll.


Town Board


Long-time incumbents Fred Costello (Independence, endorsed by D-R-I) and Leeanne Thornton (Independence, endorsed by D-I) face challenges from Allyson Barbaria (Republican, endorsed by R-C) and Dan Ellsworth (Conservative, endorsed by C). Read the Q&A with each by clicking on their names and see how the candidates are doing in our poll.



County Legislature District 2


First-term Legislator Chris Allen (Democrat, endorsed by D-R-I) faces a challenge from Angie Minew (Conservative enrollment pending, endorsed by Conservative Party). This district includes the village, Barclay Heights and Malden. Article and poll.


County executive


Two-term incumbent Mike Hein (Democrat, endorsed by Democrats) faces a challenge from former Legislature Chair Terry Bernardo (Independence, endorsed by R-C-I). Article on Bernardo, article on Hein.


Other races

District 1 Legislator Mary Wawro and Highway Superintendent Doug Myer are unopposed. In Legislature District 3, which includes parts of Saugerties and the town of Ulster, Dean Fabiano, with all major party lines, is facing a challenge from Jason Kovacs, who  has the Maple Party line. DA Holley Carnright is unopposed.


The Eagle’s View

Columnist Klaus Gaebel has been writing dispatches throughout the campaign. He discusses the likely outcomes of the races, relevant recent local history, and other issues.



Read what the candidates, supporters and detractors have to say.


Other coverage

Check out all posts tagged Election 2015 to read about the events that led up to the contest.


Where to vote

where to vote s The polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Here’s a more detailed map of the districts.

Call the county Board of Elections with any questions, that’s what they’re there for- 334-5470.