Saugerties Cub Scouts earn STEM award

cub-scouts-stem-HZTSeven members of Glasco Cub Scout Pack 135 have become the first members of the Rip Van Winkle Council to earn the STEM Dr. Louis Alvarez Super Nova Award. STEM learning, which focuses on the fields of science, technology, engineering and math, has been taken on by the Boy Scouts of America to encourage the natural curiosity of youth members and their sense of wonder. Second-graders Oliver Ashton, Liam Boek, Zane Cahill, David Clearwater, Evan Fasano, Jonathan MacNamara, Luke Profera and Daniel Stegmayer, under the guidance of Alyson Ferrigan-Cahill, spent several months learning through experiments and research how these fields apply to everyday living and the world around them. Cub Scout Pack 135 is sponsored by the Glasco Fire Company and is open to all boys in grades 1-5. More information is available at (845) 532-1643.