Saugerties Youth Awards

awards-HZTThe Town Board honored five Saugerties Community Youth Awards recipients at its recent meeting.

Under the slogan, “You’ve been caught,” The Saugerties Youth Awards recognize youth who are caught making good choices and doing good deeds. The goal is to reinforce positive behavior and promote community awareness of positive contributions by the town’s youth.

In her nomination of 11-year-old Hailie TerBush, Char Fraske said the most impressive thing about Hailie is that she continues to rise above the many ups-and-downs of her young life. She is currently living with a foster family in the Mt. Marion School district. Her mother, whom she loves dearly, has been in and out of her life. Despite these setbacks, Hailie approaches life with fearlessness. She brings a sense of confidence, spunk and spirit to her 6th grade classroom.


Savannah Vladich, 13, an eighth grader at Saugerties Junior High School, is a member of the Saugerties Boys & Girls Club and the teen leadership program at the Keystone Club. She runs gym games for all the teens and often takes 40 minutes daily to read with younger members of the club as a part of the Rocket Readers program. She also helps younger members with homework.

Hannah Yonnetti, 14, is an 8th grade student in Hope Antonelli’s Builder’s Club. She helped the club with social media outreach by creating an Instagram account and updating the page regularly.

Teacher Robert Rea describes Isabella Armstrong, 11, as a hardworking, caring student. She is popular with other students and respectful to the staff. Isabella also does well in academics.

Grace Hopf, 8, is described by MaryAnn Hart as one of the most courageous children she has ever taught. She has cerebral palsy and has to wear braces on both legs. Often Grace is exhausted just from climbing stairs at Cahill School. She has Botox treatments that wear her out, but Hart has never heard her complain. Grace always has a smile for everyone she meets and is a light to her classroom and an inspiration to everyone.

Caption from left: Mary Olsen, Deputy Supervisor Fred Costello, Hailie TerBush, Savannah Vladich, Councilman Jim Bruno, Hannah Yonnetti, Isabella Armstrong, Councilwoman Leeanne Thornton, Grace Hopf, Supervisor Greg Helsmoortel and Councilman Bill Schirmer.