Races in the home stretch

Rob Stanley, left; Kathy Nolan, right.

On Election Day, voters in Shandaken will pick a supervisor, two council members, a town clerk, and a highway superintendent.

Long-time environmental and community activist Kathy Nolan, a Democrat, is challenging Republican supervisor Rob Stanley. GOP councilman Vincent Bernstein is seeking reelection, alongside Hanover Farms farmstand operator Alfie Higley, a Democrat running on the Republican ticket. The Democratic council candidates are Michael Koegel, owner of Mama’s Boy Cafe, and former supervisor Peter DiSclafani, proprietor of Catskill Rose restaurant.

Clockwise from top right, Peter DiSclafani, Michael Koegel, Alfie Higley, Vincent Bernstein.


Town clerk and Republican Laurilyn Frasier is running to retain the seat she has held for 24 years. She is contested by businesswoman Joyce Grant on the Democratic line and Lois Cuttitta Lapinski, currently Town of Ulster court clerk, on the United Shandaken Party line.

Highway superintendent Eric Hofmeister has been endorsed by both the Republicans and Democrats. Challenger Keith Johnson, who held the position four years ago, is running as a Conservative and on his own Advocate Party line.

Assessors Heidi Clark and Carol Seitz are both running unopposed to keep their positions.

The Conservative Party has endorsed Stanley for supervisor, Higley and Bernstein for council members, Grant for town clerk, and Johnson for highway super. Grant and Bernstein are also on the Independence Party line, while Nolan, DiSclafani, and Koegel have been endorsed by the Common Ground party.++



Hurley races to finish line

Gary Bellows

Hurley Supervisor Gary Bellows is seeking his tenth non-consecutive term on the Republican, Conservative and Independence Party lines against Democrat Evan Matthews, has also mentioned the installation solar panels at Town Hall, his ongoing lawsuit against Matthews, who’s also running on the Working Families line. For town Council, incumbent Republican John Gill is seeking his third four-year term in a field of three candidates for two posts, alongside fellow Republican John Dittus and Democrat William McKnight.

Incumbent Highway Superintendent Clyde Russell, a Republican with Independence Party backing, is facing off against Michael Paul, a Democrat with Conservative Party backing, seeking a third two year term. For town clerk, incumbent Town Clerk/Tax Collector Judy Mayhon, a Democrat with Conservative Party backing, is unopposed for a third two-year term.

Finally, for town justice, incumbents John Parker and Michael Jordan are running on Republican, Independent and Conservative Party lines against Tracy Kellogg, a Democrat, who formerly was supervisor of the town of Woodstock.

There are no special propositions on this year’s ballot.

Hurley votes at two polling sites, with all even-numbered districts at the Hurley Town Hall and all odd-numbered districts going to the West Hurley Fire Hall.++

Paul Smart



Familiar faces in Olive

The Olive candidates.

All but one of the seven candidates on the ballot in Olive have run before.

For town supervisor, incumbent Berndt Leifeld is seeking a 12th term on the Democratic and Independence Party lines against Republican and Conservative Party-backed Cindy Johansen, who also ran against him in 2007. For town council, incumbent Henry Rank (D-I) is seeking a third four-year term, Peter Friedel (R-C) is seeking a second term, Donald Van Buren (R-C) is running for his second time, with Ternice Winne (D-I) as the only candidate running for office for the first time.

Town justice Ronald Wright is running unopposed on the Democratic, Independence and Conservative party lines.

There are no special propositions on this year’s ballot.

The key issue resolves around the length of time the present administration has been in office, and whether the officials are doing well for the town or have overstayed their welcome. Secondary concerns include the town’s response to the recent flood disasters, and deeper ideological struggles over taxes, budget cuts, and the size of government.

Polling places have stayed the same as before, according to the Ulster County Board of Elections, with some minor changes on district borders.

District 1 votes at the American Legion Hall on Mountain Road, District Two polls at the Olive Free Library in West Shokan, District 3 votes at the Samsonville United Methodist Church, District 4 votes at the Olivebridge Fire hall, and District 5 polls at the Boiceville Fire House on Route 28.++

Paul Smart